Happy Run (25-Jan-2009)

January 26, 2009 at 2:55 am 4 comments

How does one measure success in a race?  Is it the time?  Or Finishing the Race with no injury?  Yesterday I did my second 15k in the Happy Run.  I had two goals to finish faster than my first 15k and to finish without injury.  My first 15k was last year (Mizuno 1)  and I finished 2:24 with both of my legs cramping (not to mention I was walking most of the way).  I really wanted to do this run so even without proper training i pushed through.

I was so anxious about this race that I could not sleep.  Woke up at 1:30 and decided to relax and play FIFA 09 rather than force myself to sleep.  I picked up my friend Rivka at around 4:30 and met up with my running buddies (Mayen, Mickey, Joy, Lito, Bobby) at the starting line.  The race started at 5:50 and I tried to keep my run to a comfortable pace.  At the first corner I could sense that we were going to be last at the 15k crowd was starting to thin out.  True enough when we reached the gate of McKinley Hill the 5k runners were not to far behind.  Normally I’d panic and start to pick up the pace but told myself to stay focused and continue with my current pace.  Rivka and I finaly reached at turn around point on c-5 and was about to enter Heritgae Park.  Amazingly my legs were still holding up, at this point I was starting to worry because during Mizuno 1 my legs started to cramp at Heritage Park.  2.5k later I was relieved to exit the park with my legs still intact but it was at this pont that I decided to walk a bit.  My legs were okay, but my lungs were not….McKinley Hill…that dreadful  hilly course….last year both my legs cramped in this area so was very careful when we entered.

I saw Rivka turn towards McKinley Hill, but when I got in she disappeared.  I figured she picked up her pace since it was downhill so i did the same when i reached the bottom still no Rivka, How the heck could she have built a big lead on me so quickly, I told myself.   To my surprise, somebody handed me a banana. Apparenly she stopped by 7-11 to buy one.  Banana on hand…uphill?  Reason fro me to walk hahahaaha. I took my sweet time in finishing my banana and got to the turn around point well rested to i ran back, we finallly got out of McKinley unscathed.

The last stretch of the race i was feeling tightness on my legs and Rivka was experiening pain as well so we decided to take it easy.  We finished the Race 2:30 but I’m happy with results because aside from the normal soreness my legs, back and body didn’t hurt so much.  WOOPEEDOO!!!!

Till the next 15k…. heheeh

Entry filed under: Running: Races. Tags: , .

My First 5k Run New Balance Power Race (16-Nov-2008)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. moose  |  January 26, 2009 at 9:28 am

    While I am definitely a competitive person, I am planning on running a half marathon this spring with no agenda as to time or place finishing. In this case I think the feeling of accomplishment in crossing the finish line will be enough (and this from a former cross country and track runner)

    Reply
    • 2. aljochua  |  January 28, 2009 at 12:05 am

      I know what you mean moose, I guess for a non-competitive runner like myself. Finishing a race with no injury is an accomplishment in itself.

      Good luck on your half marathon. I’m planning on doing the same this March.

      Reply
  • 3. mickymac  |  January 30, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Pandabear, you are an inspiration. Dude, I’ll support you on your first half marathon. You can finish that race easily!

    Reply
  • 4. bobby  |  February 1, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Hey Aljo, that still a big improvement from you’re first 15k. You’re not injured after the run unlike the last time. I guess the most important thing to us non-competitive runners is to stay injury free. Nakakahiya rin naman kasi kung kasing bilis natin yung ibang runners tapos ganito ang size natin hahaha…See you in training bro, let’s all do the skyway run.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts